CLICK Channel as well as CLICK Festival is developed and produced at the Kulturværftet in Elsinore, Denmark.       Contact

Lil Lacy and Ulrik Heltoft

In this interview, visual artist Ulrik Heltoft and composer Lil Lacy take a step into the background of and the work with the live performance PNEUMATICKS, an inhalation and exhalation in four movements
for winds, voices, strings and images.


PNEUMATICKS is a composition of music and film, about the phenomena respiration – the opening between the inside and the outside. Breathing is vitality in its purest form, the usual inhalation and exhalation often happens unnoticed.

In PNEUMATICKS the consciousness of breathing is transformed into an unusual force in music and images. In its uncompressed form, the piece transmits fluctuations of light and sound waves in poetic oscillations received as organic energy.

PNEUMATICKS is synchronically developed by composers and visual artists. The film consists of documentary day-for-night recordings from the West Nile region, Uganda. The music consists of four movements following the process of an inhalation and an exhalation in two breaths.

 Visual artists: Ann Sophie von Bülow & Ulrik Heltoft. Composers: Lil Lacy & Signe Lykke. Musicians:  Katinka Fogh Vindelev (soprano), Laura Mayer (alto), Simon Rønne Rischel (baritone), Morten Lohmann Sønderskov Jensen (bass clarinet), Soma Allpass (cello) & Lil Lacy (cello).



Interview: Barbara Scherfig, Denmark 2017
Camera: Elisabetta Saiu
Editing: Elisabetta Saiu
Production: Barbara Scherfig
Copyright: Kulturværftet/CLICK Festival 2017


Interview. 13:36 min.